~~As a reminder, each spring and fall when moving changing our clocks, it is also important to change the batteries in our smoke detectors. If you need assistance in changing your smoke detector batte...
About us

Welcome to Columbus Junction Fire and Rescue

Our department is a benefited fire district.  A benefited fire district is a taxing district established for providing fire protection. Benefited fire districts are similar in structure to school districts except for their different purpose. They may include both cities and townships within their boundaries. A benefited district may form a fire department, which is what we have done. Some districts may simply serve as a taxing body to contract for service. Benefited districts supersede city and township responsibilities with regard to fire protection. No new benefited districts may be formed after 1975, however, existing districts may continue. There are currently approximately 55 existing benefited districts surviving in the State.

Columbus Benefited Fire District is located in the northwest corner of Louisa County and includes the communities of Columbus City, Columbus Junction, Cotter and Fredonia.  Our district is approximately 128 square miles, and we boarder with all of the following Departments: Conesville FD, Letts FD, Grandview FD, Wapello FD, Morning Sun FD, Winfield FD, Crawfordsville FD, Ainsworth FD, and Riverside FD.

© 2022 Columbus Junction Fire and Rescue